Sentence Primer

Think back to elementary school and the lesson you learned that a sentence contains a subject and a verb. That was the rule, period.

Unfortunately, many writers haven’t added to their learning about sentences, as evidenced by the inappropriate ending punctuation and refusal to write verb-less sentences.

Here’s a sentence primer you may want to keep handy.

  • Declarative sentence. This is the traditional sentence structure we’re used to. It’s a simple assertion and expresses a complete thought. Correct ending punctuation is a period. Example: Sunday night is taco night at our house.
  • Exclamatory sentence. This is a sentence showing passion, violence, vehemence, forcefulness. As does the declarative sentence, the exclamatory sentence expresses a complete thought. Correct punctuation is an exclamation point. CAUTION: If overused (and it usually is), the exclamation point loses its impact and meaning. One exclamation point at the end of a sentence is appropriate!!!!! (As you can see.) Example: I’m so tired of high gas prices!
  • Imperative sentence. This sentence expresses (not asks) a simple request or command (depending on what the writer wants to relay). Correct ending punctuation is a period. Example: Take out the garbage.
  • Interrogative sentence. This sentence expresses a complete thought and asks for more information. Correct punctuation is a question mark. Example: Why can’t I go to the movie with Sherry?

Although this next example doesn’t fall into the four sentence categories listed above, it, too, is a type of sentence–the verb-less sentence. The verb-less sentence is a word or group of words that expresses a complete thought without the use of a verb. Examples: No. Yes. Nonsense!  No, not now, not ever! In the garage? Why?

Finally, make sure you don’t over-punctuate the end of the sentence. By that I mean when you have a sentence that ends with a period in an abbreviation, that period serves two purposes–to show the end of the abbreviation and to show the end of the sentence. A second period over-punctuates the sentence. Example: She liked the same entertainment  he did–movies, music, dancing, etc.

I trust if you haven’t already expanded your writing to include all the types of sentences in this primer, you’ll give them a try soon.

Happy writing!

13 Responses to “Sentence Primer”


  1. 1 annrichduncan March 8, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Hey. You’re informative. Like, wow.
    I’m an author, looking at blogs because I was recently told by an agent that she wants to work with me. My first “assignment” is to create a blog. While developing a WordPress blog I saw that your blog is listed as one of the fastest growing blogs. Congrats.

    • 2 expertbookpublishing March 8, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      I had no idea I had one of the fastest growing blogs. I am humbled and thank you for sharing that with me.

      We love publishing books, and I think the more I can do to help authors write better, the better the publishing process is for everyone involved. I’m so pleased people like what I offer.

      You are fortunate to find an agent in this tough publishing climate. Establishing a following through a blog is an excellent first step. I have to thank my web maven for encouraging me to write the blog. I kept putting it off. Don’t wait. Just make sure your blog reflects the image you want to create about yourself as an author.

      Again, thanks for the comment!

  2. 3 ecreith March 8, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I was browsing the main wordpress page when I saw your blog. I love this post. I’ll be checking back regularly.

    In the Scriptorium I do some of the same stuff you’re doing here, although, of course, none of us is going to get to all of it.

    Cheers,
    Elizabeth Creith

  3. 5 Carol Ann Hoel March 8, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    I appreciate your posts that remind us of proper writing habits. Blessings…

  4. 7 facebook security settings login September 16, 2014 at 11:37 am

    If you are thinking about adding affiliate advertising to your internet site, do some comparison shopping.

  5. 8 Natural Hair Regrowth September 20, 2014 at 4:26 am

    There are many ways of preparing the Bhringraj plant for application or ingestion, but either
    Bhringraj powder or Bhringraj oil is favoured for hair
    loss treatment. Rinse with Apple Cider Vinegar twice a week to maintain a healthy scalp and to reduce product buildup.

    In contrary, constantly brushing the hair can stress the hair strands and pull
    off the hair roots.

  6. 9 champaign il mosser's shoes September 20, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    I like the little things, you would like to make you want to consider, oddly enough, Melissa shoes are appropriate for the new Faster from AlpineStars.
    Second, to get their unique role in the subsequent strike of the new team.
    If you watch in your closet? Mark HoodThank you, Simmons found himself struggling against Mark
    Smith of Minnesota. I then had to cancel on the beach,
    shoes need to be a member of SBNation.

  7. 10 home improvement magazine September 20, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  8. 11 descargar ocho apellidos vascos September 23, 2014 at 12:06 am

    Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next write ups thank you once again.

  9. 12 spesifikasi nokia x+ dan nokia xl September 26, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    The Nokia X7 supports 2G and 3G networks and comes powered with 1300 m – Ah battery that gives a talk time
    of 6 hours 30 minutes and standby time of 450 hours for 2G and allows 450 hours of talk time and standby time of 4 hours 30
    minutes on 3G. Swipe any edge of the screen to go home and afterwards move easily
    between three home views. Class 32 GPRS and EDGE keep the handset connected to
    the appropriate mobile operator.

  10. 13 กระเป๋าเดินทางลายการ์ตูน September 29, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    You may also want to consider features like water proof material and slash proof straps for bags.
    I have some suitcases that take up at least a quarter of the allowance empty.
    In India you have a large variety of destinations to choose from to spend your hard earned vacation.


Leave a Reply

