Expand Your Vocabulary

Writers write, right? Absolutely!

Writing means putting words together. And the more words you know, the better your opportunity to create writing people want to read.

I’m not asking you to use words none of your readers will understand (or will have to keep a dictionary handy to get through your paragraphs). But I am asking you to expand your vocabulary to find multiple ways to express yourself.

For example, how many words can you substitute for the word plan?

I can think of a few immediately:

  • blueprint
  • agenda
  • itineary
  • program
  • outline
  • design

Of course, the word I choose depends on the context of the writing, but the writing is more interesting when you can draw on a larger vocabulary.

You can practice expanding your vocabulary anywhere. Look around your world and find new ways to say common things.

Pen could become:

  • writing implement
  • pencil
  • crayon
  • marker
  • sharpie

House could become:

  • home
  • dwelling
  • abode
  • cottage
  • building
  • bungalow
  • shelter
  • structure

Challenge yourself to expand your vocabulary and your writing will improve. I promise.

2 Responses to “Expand Your Vocabulary”


  1. 1 Fay May 13, 2009 at 6:07 am

    I like this tip. It is easy to take vocabulary (or your lack of vocabulary) for granted. When I used to subscribe to Readers Digest their vocabulary pages were ones I always read. Guess I need to get one of those little desk calendars that teach you a new word a day!

  2. 2 quickest way to get pregnant September 19, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!


Leave a Reply

